Labour Mobility Legislation

The amended Federal/Provincial/Territorial Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT) and the Ontario Labour Mobility Act removes barriers for Respiratory Therapists who are registered in other Canadian provinces to become registered with the College of Respiratory Therapist of Ontario.

Under the Ontario labour mobility legislation a person registered to practice Respiratory Therapy in a regulated jurisdiction (Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador) may be eligible for registration in Ontario without any additional reassessment or restrictions.

In addition, applicants from non-regulated jurisdictions (British Columbia, Prince Edward Island, Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Yukon) may also apply under the labour mobility provisions, provided that they are:

  • registered members of the CSRT practicing in an unregulated jurisdiction in Canada;
  • permitted by the CSRT to use the title “Registered Respiratory Therapist”; and
  • have practiced the profession within that unregulated jurisdiction for a minimum of 750 hours within the previous two years while holding a current registered membership with the CSRT.

Applicants applying under the labour mobility provision, must complete the CRTO Application for Registration form, and submit this form, with the applicable fee(s) and documentation, to the CRTO office. Applicants should allow at least 2 to 6 weeks for the processing of their application.